Learn More about our Participating Sites
Want to know when, where, and times a site will be open? Scroll below to learn about all of the historic houses, museums, and private homes of Historic Saint Louis.
4947 W. Florissant, St. Louis, MO 63115
314-381-0750 Website Contact
Come visit the picturesque 314 acres of Bellefontaine Cemetery and Arboretum. Stop inside our main gate at 4947 W. Florissant and enter our Gate House (building on the left) for directions to a set of stops in the cemetery. While there pick up a little holiday cheer with some lite refreshments. Proceed into the cemetery to the Campbell, Field family lots and to Historic Hotchkiss Chapel. At each location Volunteers and Staff will be on hand to present information to each location, family and impact on St. Louis and Regional History. An exposure to the history of St. Louis and to a class II Arboretum, on the Morton scale, make a visit to Bellefontaine of interest for all that enter the gates.
1820 Col. Benjamin Stephenson House
409 S. Buchanan, Edwardsville, IL 62025 618-692-1818 Website Contact
Admission: A dults: $6, Children (6-12 years old): $3, Under 6: free
Experience the history of 1820 Illinois. Stephenson House opens an enchanting window on cultural, political, and architectural developments during the early years of Illinois. Wander the gardens to discover heritage plants cultivated by our forebearers or take a hands-on history tour of the home. The four-room home is an excellent example of architecture from the Federal period and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Illinois State Historic Preservation Agency includes it among only a handful of homes built in the first quarter of the 19th century that remain standing in the state. It is also considered the oldest brick home in Madison County.
Campbell House Museum
1508 Locust Street, St. Louis, MO 63103
314-421-0325 Website Contact Admission: Adults: $8, Children (12 & under): free
Built in 1851, the first house in the elegant Lucas Place neighborhood, the Campbell House was the home of renowned fur trader and entrepreneur Robert Campbell and his family from 1854 until 1938. The museum contains hundreds of original Campbell possessions including furniture, paintings, clothing, letters, carriages and a unique set of interior photographs taken in the mid-1880s.
Carondelet Historical Society
6303 Michigan Ave
, St. Louis, MO 63111(314) 481-6303 Website Contact
Located in the Historic Des Peres School built in 1873 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Carondelet Historical Society houses the:
Carondelet History Museum – Heritage Room, Memory Lane Room, Art gallery, Wall of Fame, World War I, II, and Civil War Exhibits, Rotating Displays.
Susan Blow Kindergarten Room – First continuous Public School Kindergarten in the United States restored to its original appearance in 1873.
Frederick Bouchein Research Library – Historic St. Louis books and maps, Delor Family Papers (founder of Carondelet in 1767), Genealogy collections, thousands of photographs, City Directories from 1870.
Cleveland High School Collections – Trophies, Pennants, buttons, rings, Beacon Yearbooks, Orange & Blue newsletters, pictures, memorabilia.
3352 DeMenil Place, Saint Louis, MO 63118
314-771-5828 Website Contact
Admission: Adult: $10, Children (under 12): $5Stroll through more an acre of informal Victorian gardens featuring hydrangea, miniature boxwood, and roses. Then join experts from the Missouri Botanical Garden at 1:00 PM in the Carriage House for a discussion of Victorian gardening principals and what you can do to start your own Victorian Garden.
D.D. Collins House
703 W Main St, Collinsville, IL 62234
618-420-0288 Website Contact
Admission: free In 1845 Daniel Dove Collins built this house for his bride Elizabeth at the corner of West Main and Center Streets. A prime example of Greek Revival architecture, the restored house now sits adjacent to Collins Park at 703 West Main Street inviting visitors to the Uptown Collinsville Business District. The home is furnished with period appropriate antiques.
Thornhill Mansion at Faust Park
15185 Olive Blvd., Chesterfield, MO 63017
314-615-8328 Website Contact
Admission: freeCome experience the beauty of Thornhill, the home of Governor and Mrs. Frederick Bates, located in Faust Park. Thornhill, the oldest standing governor’s house in the state of Missouri, is celebrating the two-hundredth anniversary of the completion of its construction. A visit to Thornhill includes not only seeing the remarkably intact and period-correct estate house but also the barns, historic gardens, native prairies, and family cemetery that help recreate the experience of living and working on an early nineteenth-century farm near the Missouri River west of St. Louis. Inside the estate’s granary is a new exhibit, “Product of Place,” featuring products grown, built, and handcrafted on the property by the Native Americans, African-Americans, and emigrant Europeans who lived on the property.
Field House Museum
634 South Broadway, Saint Louis, MO 63102
314-421-4689 Website Contact
Admission: Adults: $7, Children (7-16) $4, Under 7: free
The Field House Museum is a dynamic museum and historic site focused on the Field Family. The historic house was once the home of Roswell Field, noted St. Louis attorney, and the birthplace of his son, Eugene Field, the “Children’s Poet” who was known best for his poems, Wynken, Blynken, & Nod and The Gingham Dog & Calico Cat. While living in the home, Roswell Field became the key attorney in the Dred & Harriet Scott Freedom Suit when he formulated the legal strategy that propelled the case to federal court. The house is designated as a National Historic Landmark and has an attached museum featuring the many collections of the museum.
First State Capitol State Historic Site
200 South Main Street, St. Charles, MO 63301
314-565-1468 Website Contact
Admission: freeLocated within a stone’s throw of the Missouri River and Katy Trail State Park, and in the heart of historic St. Charles, First Missouri State Capitol State Historic Site is the first seat of the state’s government. Its rough hewn timbers and dark wood floors whisper the tales of the state’s first legislature. Interpretive programs help visitors understand how the state’s government was formed and what life was like in the early 1800s. After you tour the capitol, you can stroll through our beautiful backyard and visit our heritage garden where staff will explain the various plants we grow and their uses in the early 19th century.
1067 Dunn Road, Florissant, MO 63031
314-565-1468 Website Contact
Admission: $3 person
Enjoy wine and a variety of cheeses as you tour our garden and house museum. This 1860’s farmhouse and landmark was built by Franz Gittemeier (Gettemeier, Gettenmeier) who came to Florissant from Prussia in the 1850s. After working as a farm hand, Franz left for the California gold rush. He returned to Florissant’s fertile land with enough gold dust to purchase 50 acres of farmland. Franz built this three story home, married and had 10 children. His children married into family names such as Behlman, Kohnen, Keeven, Korte, Meyer, Nick and many more. Come tour this German home and visit our archival/research center. On display you will find Franz’s wooden shoes, early wedding photos, Hume’s family history, Aubuchon family furniture and much more.
1 N 4th St, Ste. Genevieve, MO 63670573-883-9622 Website Contact
The Guibourd-Valle House was built by Jacques Guibourd, merchant and landowner, in 1806. He survived a trip in a wine barrel to avoid a slave rebellion, also escaped the French Revolution, and rose to prominence in Ste. Genevieve. His family home was lived in by his descendants until the 1970's when it was willed to the Foundation for Restoration of Ste. Genevieve, who maintains it as a tour home. Historically significant, this French colonial poteaux sur solle (posts on sill) home featuring Norman truss construction is located at 4th and Merchant. Especially important to those interested in Colonial architecture, it is the only home open to the public in North America with complete attic access to view this type of construction up close. On June 15, before or after touring the house, enjoy complimentary tea or lemonade in the walled garden area, shaded by a picturesque 75-100 yr old Linden tree.
7600 Westmoreland Ave., Clayton, MO 63105 314-290-8553 Website Contact
Admission: free self-guided toursMartin Franklin Hanley built the Historic Hanley House in 1855. The farmstead is the oldest structure in the City of Clayton and it is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The restored home is today an historic house museum filled with original family furnishings, artifacts, and letters that together represent an honest portrayal of 19th century Missouri life. Originally located on the highest point of his 100-acre farm, the house now stands centrally in the 1.25 acre Hanley Park. The white picket fence surrounding the house follows the footprint of the original barnyard fence. While the landscape design today is more formal that anything the Hanley family would have maintained, Clayton’s horticulturalist selects Missouri natives and heirloom varieties when possible. The quince and rose bushes to the south of the home are original to the site and the fence-lined herb garden mimics the families preference for planting.
1155 S. Rock Hill Rd., Webster Groves, MO 63119
314-968-1857 Website Contact
Admission: Adult: $5, Children (12 & under): free
The Hawken House will not be part of the Painting a Summertime Past
be joining us for our December Spirited Holiday Past
Historic Daniel Boone Home
1868 Highway F, Defiance, MO 633419 636-798-2005 Website Contact Admission: Adult: $8, Senior (60+): $6, Children (5-12): $5, Under 5: free
For the Boones, dependence on natural resources was directly related to the quality of their diet, the colors they wore, and the medicinal remedies that provided healing. Come and visit the Historic Daniel Boone Home at Lindenwood Park on Saturday, June 15th and explore the natural and cultivated flora that sustained the Boone family in this valley back in the early 19th century. Visit one of our horticulturists and learn how the Boone’s use of plants encompassed every aspect of their lives. In addition to viewing our formal garden beds, feel free to stroll around the park. Pause, breathe, and consider the natural beauty all around you.
Historic Sappington House
1015 South Sappington Road, Crestwood, MO 63126 314-822-8171 Website Contact
Admission: Adult: $5, Children (under 12): $1From deep in the earth to high in the tree canopy, enjoy summer fun at Historic Sappington House! Our formal flower and herbal gardens and home appear much as they did during Thomas Jefferson’s presidency. The lovely green lawns are awaiting family picnicking, maybe after Biking through History on Grant’s Trail, starting at 10 am (phone 314-842-1867x 230 Grant’s National Site, free reservations). Also this will be the closing day of the final high school student archaeological dig, so see the discovered artifacts. And safely climb to the heights in the park’s trees with Vertical Voyages, sessions at 11 am and 1 pm (call 314-822-8171, $20 reservations). Summertime treats served. Reservations not required for house and garden tours. The Barn restaurant on-site. Overflow parking at Crestwood Elementary and off Reco Avenue.
John B. Myers Home
108 Dunn Road, Florissant, MO 63031
314-277-0204 Admission: $3 person
Land for the John B. Myers house was purchased in 1867 by John B. Myers and his wife, Adelaide. The two-story home is known for its Classical Revival style architecture, and features large rooms, each with a fireplace. It boasts a widow’s walk and columned front porch. Shortly after the estate’s completion, John Myers died of pneumonia in 1869, at the age of 48. His wife continued to run the estate until her death in 1926. The home went through various owners. It was threatened with demolition in the construction of hwy 170 and saved through the cooperation of the Federal Dept. of Transportation, Historic Florissant, Inc. and the owner at the time, Mrs. Ivanich. The Myers’ House is now privately owned and on the National Register for Historic Places. The first floor houses the Weaving Department and the second floor, living quarters. Come see original fresco work, original woodwork, pocket doors and paintings from the owner’s private collection. Tours by appointment.
302 W. Argonne Drive., Kirkwood, MO 63122314-965-5151 Website ContactAdmission: $5
Mudd's Grove is an imposing 3 story brick home set in a large yard 2 blocks west of the Kirkwood Train Station. It is home to and operated by the Kirkwood Historical Society. We hope you will come and enjoy this lovely home built in 1859. It is furnished to reflect the Victorian Period when it was occupied by Mr. and Mrs. Henry T. Mudd and their family. The spacious landscaped grounds include a Gate House, gazebo, and herb garden. There will be a "Pop Up Farmer's Market" with local vendors offering items such as honey, crafts, and home and garden related items. Savor lemonade and cookies at tables on the tree shaded lawn while listening to live music.
7801 Genesta Ave, St Louis, Mo 63123
314-892-3474 Website ContactAdmission:
Oakland House is a jewel in the St. Louis area not to be missed. Who would know that the c1853 summer home of Louis A. Benoist still exists? It is a lovely two story stone mansion with a wide southern view veranda from which the Benoist family enjoyed the remaining three acres along with 486 other acres of bridle paths, orchards and flowering trees. A four story tower recently received a top to bottom re-do at this Italian Renaissance treasure. Forty-five years of labor and gardening have made this attraction a "not to be missed" adventure of original furniture, architecture of A J Downing and construction by George I. Barnett a delight of 14 ft ceilings, French cooking hearth, beautifully restored coves, wood gra ining, Honduran mahogany winding stair case, 18th century paintings, Indian artifacts, herb garden, and flower and rose beds. Hope to see you there!
11 North Fourth Street, St. Louis, MO 63102 314-655-1600 Website Contact
The Old Courthouse was the site of the first two trials of the pivotal Dred Scott case in 1847 and 1850. It was also where Virginia Minor's case for a woman's right to vote came to trial in the 1870s. Tour this historic structure, and visit the restored courtrooms to learn more about our 19th century judicial system.
St. Louis' Old Courthouse is listed in the National Park Service's National Underground Railroad Network To Freedom. The Old Courthouse is linked with the story of the Underground Railroad, and with that of slavery, as a property associated with legal challenges to slavery. It was a public forum as well as a courthouse. Slaves were auctioned from its steps in estate settlements, while one man's suit for freedom helped plunge the country into Civil War. The Old Courthouse was the site of hundreds of suits for freedom, but one gained notoriety.
Old Saint Ferdinand Shrine
6826 Chamberlain Ct., University City, MO 63130 314-862-4569 Website Contact
The Sutter-Meyer Farmhouse is the oldest house in University City. It was originally built by William (b. 1846) and Julia Sutter on 8.33 acres of land inherited from William's father, John Sutter (1815-1867). John Sutter came from Germany with his family in 1831. He had 16 children. John Sutter was a dairyman whose business supplied major St. Louis hotels. The community on Olive near the Sutter farm became known as Sutter, Missouri and had its own post office! In 1875, William Sutter sold his house and property to Roman Meyer (1847-1913), another German immigrant. Meyer was a truck farmer. In 1906 the area was incorporated into the new municipality of University City. The farmhouse was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1980. The City of University City now owns the farmhouse and adjacent land. It is leased by the Sutter-Meyer Society, formed in 2008 to perserve and maintain this University City treasure.
Overland Log House
2404 Gass Ave., Overland, MO 63114(314) 426-7027 Website Contact
The Overland Log House, originally located overlooking the Missouri River just west of Wild Horse Creek Road, was moved and rebuilt by members of the Overland Historical Society on its current site. The two-story log house dates to the mid-1800s and was built in a “dogtrot” design of two cabins connected by an open breezeway. The original owners enclosed the dogtrot for the addition of an entryway and stairs. Explore the many rooms where several items from the 1800s are on display, including a working loom. The grounds also include a log barn with tools and farm implements, a covered wagon and buggy, a smokehouse, and a “single-seat” outhouse. Visitors may also stop by the museum where they will see exhibits on Overland, the Overland Trail, and memorabilia of the Ritenour School District along with purchasing our cookbook within our gift shop.
Ste. Genevieve Museum Learning Center
360 Market St., Ste. Genevieve, MO 63670
573-883-DINO Website Contact
The Ste. Genevieve Museum Learning Center will not be part of the Painting a Summertime Past be joining us for our December Spirited Holiday Past event.
6826 Chamberlain Ct., University City, MO 63130 314-862-4569 Website Contact
The Sutter-Meyer Farmhouse is a white-painted, 2-story brick house that is believed to be the oldest building in University City. The Farmhouse was built in 1873 and has been changed little over the years, looking much as it did when built by William Sutter. William was the son of German immigrant, John Sutter, who owned the land and ran a successful dairy farm. After his father died, William received 8.33 acres and married Julia Broking in 1869. He and Julia mortgaged their small farm in 1873 and may have used that money to build the Farmhouse. Two years later, they sold the farm and house to Roman Meyer. The Meyer Family occupied the farmhouse for 90 years. The property boasts an herb garden, butterfly garden, farm equipment, and an in-ground well covered with plexiglass. Tour the first floor of the Farmhouse and see the recreated 1890s parlor, kitchen and dining areas.
Taille de Noyer
1896 S. New Florissant Rd., Florissant, MO 63031
314-409-9478 Website Contact
Admission: Adult: $3, Children: $2
Taille de Noyer (named for the walnut groves in the area) was the family estate of John Mullanphy, Missouri’s first millionaire. The oldest portions of the house date to 1790, with the present structure being completed in the 1840s. In 1960, the house was acquired by the Florissant Valley Historical Society and moved 200 yards to its present location to allow for construction of the McCluer High School Campus. The house is maintained as a museum and serves as the headquarters of the Florissant Valley Historical Society. More than a dozen rooms across three floors showcase period furnishings, historical images of the house and family, and a rotating vintage clothing collection.
2 Barnes West Drive, Creve Coeur, MO 63141
314-795-9322 Website Contact
The Tappmeyer Homestead is an understated elegant Victorian Italianate farmhouse constructed in 1880.Originally part of a 30+ acre homestead of the Tappmeyer family the house is shown in an 1880’s photo with plants and vegetables growing along the front walk to the house. The 1880 agricultural census reflects the farm as very self-sufficient with acres in orchards and producing many pounds of butter. Today the house has a demonstration heritage garden located behind it and is framed by plantings appropriate to the historic time period. Inside you will find the attention to detail continues with the first floor of the house decorated for late spring. Located in Creve Coeur’s Millennium Park, behind Barnes West Hospital (#2 Barnes West Drive).
631 Willoughby Ln, Collinsville, IL 62234
618-977-0941 Website Contact
Willoughby is a 1920’s to 1950’s working farm with lots to do for all ages: feed/ pet the animals, have a picnic, take a hike on the trails, play in the Kid Zone, or tour the 1922 farmhouse and timberframe barns. Willoughby offers many rental facilities with a very unique setting for any type of celebration. There will be tours of the farm from 10am to 2pm.
7400 Grant Road, St. Louis, MO 63123 314-842-1867 Website Contact
The Home & Garden program at Ulysses S. Grant National Historic Site will take visitors on a 45 minute tour of the park grounds. Participants will learn about the experiences of the Grants, Dents, and enslaved people of White Haven by viewing historic trees on the property that were planted during the nineteenth century. A Park Ranger will lead the tour and discuss the ways nature influenced the lives of the people who lived on this 850-acre property. The last fifteen minutes will focus on showing visitors a rain garden the park recently installed to control flooding and promote plant growth. The tour will be free of charge and offered multiple times throughout the day. Participants are encouraged to wear comfortable shoes and clothes that are weather appropriate.